Draft

Draft

Draft

124th ANNUAL MEETING of the Hoag Library of the Swan Library Association May 6, 2024

12PM Eastern Daylight Time:

Pursuant to Article III, Section 4 of its By-Laws, this being the first Monday in May, President Linda Weller called the 124th Annual Meeting of the Hoag Library of the Swan Library Association to order.

The following members of the Association were in attendance: Betty Sue Miller, Kevin Doherty, Gerard Morrisey

This year there are two (2) vacancies for the office of Trustee – two 4-year terms. There are three candidates on the ballot. Nominations from the floor of the Annual Meeting are not accepted. Candidate biography is on the Library website at www.hoaglibrary.org, and at the voting table in the main lobby.

At the regular March 2024 meeting of the Library Trustees, it was determined that this election and Annual Meeting will follow the format originally adopted March 12, 2008 and successfully used at Annual Meetings thereafter.

- Election shall be by paper ballots, submitted by qualified members of the Association from this point until 7 PM this evening. At 7 PM, those qualified voters, either registered or in a definite position to register, will be allowed to cast ballots, but subsequent voters will be turned away. Qualified members of the Association must be 18 years of age and have lived in the service area of the Library for at least 30 days on the day of the Annual Meeting.
- The successful candidate will fill the vacancy based on the number of votes received: the individual receiving the highest vote tallies will serve the full 4-year term.
- Each potential voter will register and receive a blank ballot. A ballot will be considered valid if it contains marks voting for 1 nominee. A voter who has spoiled a ballot in any way can ask for a clean ballot up until the time the ballot is cast.

Are there any questions?

At this time, I declare this Annual Meeting in recess until a time certain to allow for the casting of ballots. This meeting will reconvene at this same place at 7PM this evening for the purpose of receiving various reports and conducting the necessary business of the Association. There will be light refreshments.

Pursuant to Article III, Section 4 of the By-Laws, and this being the first Monday in May. **Linda Weller, Trustee President**, called the 124th Annual Meeting of the Swan Library Association to order at 7:03pm on May 6th 2024.

Attendance: Kevin Doherty, Mary Witkop, Rachel Hicks, Dawn Squicciarini, Allyson DeBoard, Sandra Walter, Veronica Morgan, Linda Weller, Jim Babcock, Betty Sue Miller, Elizabeth Haibach

Megan Coyle – Recording Secretary

Welcoming Remarks: Linda Weller welcomed people and thanked them for coming to the meeting. She also noted that it takes so many dedicated people to make this community library truly a community space. The work that goes into the building and the programs shines from the building and surprises. People who visit the library are so often surprised to find a library and community center of such caliber in Albion, and it is wonderful to see how many members of the community, along with the staff and administration, are dedicated to the successful running of this library.

Guests in attendance: Tom Rivers, William Walters, Carole Patterson

Acceptance of 2023 Annual Meeting Minutes

 Motion to waive the reading of the 2023 Annual minutes and approve them made by Kevin Doherty seconded by Mary Witkop All in favor. Accepted

Treasurer's report:

Attached

Director's Report:

Highlights of the report:

- General expenditures for the library budget (pie chart)
- Building improvements: driveway project, the streamlined and organized computer replacement project, and also grants and bequests which add to what the library is able to provide for the community.
- Circulation (physical and digital), homebound deliveries, interlibrary loans & borrows, and notarized documents (completed for community members for free by library staff). The library's collections are still growing, as can be seen in "Year in Review" handed out
- Mike Magnuson was nominated by a community member for a NIOGA outreach award for his service to the community with tech outreach for groups and people of all ages.
- Community partnerships- Hoag music series, Master Gardeners, Red Cross Blood Drive, and the Safety checks (village police and sheriff's department).
- New microfilm scanner for old newsprint, microfiche, etc

- School Budget vote will take place here at the library this year on 21st, with an art show from elementary students.
- Betty Sue met with the Elementary principal and ACS superintendent Mr. Edwards to plan how to incorporate the Library's summer reading program into the summer school program. She has also met with John Grillo to make sure the library has a presence at any of the summer parks programs activities (at Bullard Park).
- Betty Sue confirmed that the library will collaborate with Stacey Kirby for a summer reading program.
- A question was asked about the naming of the history room, and the process of adding a name to a room Betty Sue said she is looking into the difference between plaques for people who have donated various amounts of money, vs people who have served the library in other ways. She wants things to be fair to those who serve the library, as well as those who have already made or will make large donations in exchange for the recognition.

Election report:

Linda Weller shared the election results:

This Year there are two vacancies for the office of trustee; two complete terms (4 years) to complete vacancies.

The votes are as stands: (83 total ballots) James Babcock- 64 votes- 4 year term Carole Patterson - 51 votes- 4 year term Kevin Doherty- 38 votes- unelected

Unfinished Business: None

New business: None

James Babcock made the motion to adjourn until next year @ 7:25pm, 2nd Mary Witkop Unanimous **Betty Sue Miller** called the Organizational meeting of the Hoag Library of the Swan Library Association to order @ 7:32 pm

Nominations:

Presidency- Rachel Hicks nominates Linda Weller 2nd by Mary Witkop Sandra Walter moves to close the nominations and have the secretary cast one vote, 2nd by Mary Witkop

Vice President- Sandra Walter nominates Mary Witkop 2nd by Allyson DeBoard Unanimous

Secretary- Sandra Walter nominates Dawn Squicciarini 2nd by Allyson DeBoard Unanimous

Treasurer- Sandra Walter nominates Rachel Hicks 2nd by Allyson DeBoard Unanimous

Rachel Hicks moves to adjourn @ 7:40pm Unanimously 2nd and approved

Respectfully submitted Board of Trustees Secretary Dawn Squicciarini