121st ANNUAL MEETING of the Hoag Library of the Swan Library Association May 3, 2021

12PM Eastern Daylight Time:

Pursuant to Article III, Section 4 of its By-Laws, this being the first Monday in May, President Joyce A. Riley called the 121st Annual Meeting of the Hoag Library of the Swan Library Association to order.

The following members of the Association were in attendance: Joyce Riley, Gloria Nauden, Lori Thompson, Barb Kyler, arriving late: Betty Sue Miller and Kevin Doherty

This year there are two (2) vacancies for the office of Trustee – a 4-year term and a 1-year term. There are 2 candidates on the ballot. Nominations from the floor of the Annual Meeting are not accepted. Candidate biographies are on the Library website at www.hoaglibrary.org, and at the voting table in the main lobby.

At the regular February 2021 meeting of the Library Trustees, it was determined that this election and Annual Meeting will follow the format originally adopted March 12, 2008 and successfully used at Annual Meetings thereafter.

- Election shall be by paper ballots, submitted by qualified members of the Association from this point until 7 PM this evening. At 7 PM, those qualified voters, either registered or in a definite position to register, will be allowed to cast ballots, but subsequent voters will be turned away. Qualified members of the Association must be 18 years of age and have lived in the service area of the Library for at least 30 days on the day of the Annual Meeting.
- The successful candidates will fill the vacancies based on the number of votes received: the individual receiving the highest vote tallies will serve the full 4-year term, and the individual receiving the lowest vote tallies will serve a 1-year term.
- Each potential voter will register and receive a blank ballot. A ballot will be considered valid if it contains marks voting for 1 or 2 or both nominees. A voter who has spoiled a ballot in any way can ask for a clean ballot up until the time the ballot is cast.

Are there any questions?

At this this time, I declare this Annual Meeting in recess until a time certain to allow for the casting of ballots. This meeting will reconvene at this same place at 7PM this evening for the purpose of receiving various reports and conducting the necessary business of the Association. There will be light refreshments.

Pursuant to Article III, Section 4 of the By-Laws, and this being the first Monday in May. Joyce A. Riley, Trustee President, called the 121th Annual Meeting of the Swan Library Association to order at 7:pm

Attendance: Joyce Riley, Dawn Squicciarini, Gloria Nauden, Kevin Doherty, Linda Weller, Kathy Harling, Betty Sue Miller, Charlene Bloom, Elizabeth Haibach, Debbie DiBacco, Tom Rivers and Barb Kyler

Barb Kyler– Recording Secretary

Welcoming Remarks:

"Welcome to all guests, friends, and Trustees and thank you for participating in this vital aspect of the Library. It is important to have a renewable resource of people in the community, who are interested in supporting and creating an atmosphere of continuous learning through a variety of media. We are fortunate to have such an institution in our Library and people who are willing to give of their personal energies to continually seek ways to improve it.

Last year was filled with change and it was all captured on ZOOM. The Library closed and then reopened partially, there were several leadership changes but the focus was always on how to get the community back safely into our doors. A lot of credit goes to the Director who kept abreast of the Governor's almost daily changes in Dos and Don'ts for a safe reopening. Our staff worked from home and at the Library, creating programs ordering books, delivering books to shut ins, notarizing documents, registering (211) new cards and renewing (908) others, sanitizing everywhere for your safety. Online circulation access was expanded with HOOPLA, summer reading program had 111 participants and 2897 new physical items were added to our circulation. Moving into the new year, we are looking forward to hearing from you about your interest and concerns about our future."

Joyce ended by thanking the board who have been there these last few months and the staff for their hard work during the shutdown and reopening. "Thank you for your flexibility and resilience, for that I am grateful."

Introduction of Guests: Tom Rivers

Acceptance of 2020 Annual Meeting Minutes

- Motion to waive the reading of the 2020 Annual minutes made by Kevin Doherty and seconded by Linda Weller. All in favor. Accepted
- Joyce Riley moves to accept the minutes as they are All in favor. Accepted

Treasurer's report:

Attached

Director's Report:

• It has been a rough year for all things library. We have done the best we can under the circumstances. We have come back about 40% from where we were prior to the pandemic. We have opened rooms back up a little, staying under the regulations. We

are real pleased to have groups back such as Tops, and Bindings Book Club who will be co-sponsoring a book talk with a another book group on Diversity/Anti-racism in June.

- Betty Sue gave highlights about upcoming events:
 - EV Chargers and NYSERDA grant which was approved.
 - Line Energy and National Grid Replacement of all lights to LED
 - Summer Reading Rented a 20 x 40 tent that the Friends have paid for
 - The Flag was sent off to be repaired it is not done, but is finally off the cardboard it was glued to.
 - Book Vending machine continue birth 5 and now 6-12. This was purchased from a grant through the Xerox corporation when Elissa Nesbitt was on the board.
- Last item: Our mortgage by paying our normal monthly installments we will have it paid off in 3.5 years. That will be 9 years ahead of time, thanks to donations that have gone toward the mortgage.

Election report:

Joyce A. Riley shared the election results:

- Dawn Squicciarini 4-year term (30)
- Kevin Doherty 1-year term (19)

Unfinished Business: None

New business: None

Motion to adjourn to meeting at 7:20pm made by Debbie DiBacco, seconded by Linda Weller

Betty Sue called the Organizational meeting of the Hoag Library of the Swan Library Association to order.

- Nominations for office of President Linda Weller was nominated by Kathryn Harling, seconded by Kevin Doherty No other nominations were made. Kevin made a motion to have the nominations be closed and the secretary cast one ballot for Linda Weller as president. 2nd by Dawn Squicciarini. The secretary, Debbie DiBacco cast the deciding vote.
- No nominations for Vice President. Motion to wait until next meeting made by Kathy Harling seconded by Debbie DiBacco
- Motion to keep the officers that are currently in office remain until the next meeting so
 we can have someone who can sign checks. Joyce said she would be the temporary
 treasurer as the previous treasurer is no longer on the board. Motion made by Kevin
 Doherty All in favor. Accepted

Motion to adjourn made by Dawn Squicciarini at 7:28pm, seconded by Kevin Doherty. All in favor. Accepted

Respectfully submitted Board of Trustees Secretary Debbie DiBacco